So much for weekly…updates

This one isn’t going to be much of an update, but thought I’d give it a quick try, as I was checking some email and someone reminded me it had been awhile.

The main reason no updates have been forthcoming is that I switched positions a few weeks ago at Kearny High SCT (Science Connections & Technology) from Digital Arts & Mixed Media, to Visual Art & Design. What’s the difference you ask? D.A.M.M. (hate the acronym) is primarily computer graphic design whereas VAD is Drawing and Painting.

The irony?
I was hired this past summer, originally, by Horizon Christian Academy, to do, you guessed it, Drawing & Painting. I was very excited to get into a Graphics program, but my Principal told me early on that he actually wanted me to eventually teach a Drawing & Painting class; I honestly didn’t think it would happen this quickly, especially since I worked for over 5 weeks preparing the lessons and the classroom for the Digital Art class.

Having said that, it’s taken me a few weeks to get acclimated to teaching “analog” art again. I do have a greater benefit in the Drawing portion of the class than I did in Digital Art though, which is that when I performed my Student Teaching from February to June of 2009, I was able to learn every step of the process from my Master Teacher, Keith Opstad (see earlier blog entries from that experience).

The only challenge I need to overcome now is that of ordering supplies, so these students can have the same rich experience those of Westview High School did last year.

As I get opportunity, I’ll post some of my students’ work on this site.

Until then, as Tigger would say, “TTFN!”

About jaywing

After 27 years in the Graphics industry, I began a new chapter in my life -- I've earned my Teaching Credential, a Masters in Education and secured a contract to teach Digital Media at a local high school. My first day (orientation) was August 30, 2010 I can't guarantee how often this blog will be updated, as I've heard the first year of teaching doesn't allow for much extra-curricular activities, but I'll give it my best.
This entry was posted in New Teacher, Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment